The forbidden land for foreign travelers until 1996, Dolpo the land housing untouched territories also comprises authentic Tibetan culture unchanged for the last 12 centuries. During this trek there will be sections where the trail is very rugged or ill-defined, some trails have been trekked only once by a small party, and so the going will be tough. Space in some camp sites will also be very limited. It may be necessary to make changes to the itinerary at any time due to unforeseen circumstances such as adverse weather, snow or trail conditions, river water levels, or group movement. Your trip leader will advise any changes should this occur. All participants on the GHT should be flexible and open minded. The GHT should be seen as exploratory in the true sense of the word.

Considered best to trek during the springs and autumns in Nepal, Upper Dolpo Trek is a challenging trek that is operated in Full Board Basis. Crossing over the challenging passes like Kang La and Jeng La along with the limited services catered throughout the trek make this walking journey a lifetime experience in the wilderness. The top-notch gears and veteran guides who are very well known with all the aspects of Dolpo like language, culture and traditional make this trek relatively easier and convenient with us.

Highlights of the Trek

  • The sightseeing tour around the heritage sites of Kathmandu prior to the trek.
  • The diverse culture of Dolpo; Juphal, the trek starting point caters the culture of Khas Aryas, gaining elevation the trek enters the villages of ethnical tribe Magars and at Dho Tarap, the ancient trading point in Dolpo trekkers get to see the culture of Bhotiyas.
  • The arid and elevated landscapes blended so well with the nomadic villages like Saldang.
  • The authentic Tibetan Buddhist culture in Upper Dolpo’s most famous village Shey, which nestles at the foothill of Mt. Kanjiroba –referred Mount Kailash of Nepal
  • The landscapes that vary tremendously; the lower section of the trek is lush vegetation dominated by tropical and low alpine woodlands of Shey Phoksundo National Park, the upper section of the trek at times is dominated by Tibetan like landscapes, which is barren yet beautiful at the foothills of Mt. Kanjiroba and Dhaulagiri.
  • The Bon Culture and Bon Monasteries in the villages like Ringmo. Bon is the Buddhism prior to Buddha.
  • The culture of Tibetan Buddhism with beautiful myths attached with them and the nomadic lifestyle of the people of Dolpo, who centuries ago fled to Nepalese land from Tibet.
  • The magnificence of Phoksundo Lake, which manifests its unique features and camping at its shore is probably the biggest sensation of tranquility.
  • Crossing over the challenging passes like Kang La, Jeng La and Saldang La.
  • The floral and faunal biodiversity of Shey Phoksundo National Park, which is known for housing elusive cat, the snow leopard

Outline Itinerary

  • Arrival in Kathmandu, transfer to hotel; Evening welcome dinner
  • Pre-trek meeting and sightseeing tour around the Kathmandu valley
  • Fly to Nepalgung 45 minutes flight; Overnight in Nepalgunj
  • Fly to Juphal 2475m 30 minutes flight Trek to Dunia 4 hrs trek 2150m
  • Trek to Ankhe (2,660m) - 6 hrs trek
  • Trek to Renje (3,104m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Trek to Phoksundo Lake (3,600m) - 6.5 hrs trek
  • Acclimatization around Phoksundo Lake
  • Trek to Phoksundo Bhanjyang (4,402m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Cross the Kang La pass (5,151m) and trek to Shey Gompa (4,126m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Rest and exploration day at Shey Gompa
  • Cross the Saldang La pass (4,785m), and then trek to Namduna Gaon (4,400m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Trek to Saldang (3,903m) - 4 hrs trek
  • Trek to Sibu (3,942m) - 6 hrs trek
  • Trek to foot of the Jeng La (4,369m) - 5 hrs trek
  • Cross the Jeng La pass (4,845m), trek to Tokyu Gaon (4,240m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Trek to Dho Tarap (4,090m) - 4.5 hrs trek
  • Trek to Serkam (3,630m) - 6.5 hrs trek
  • Trek to Khani Gaon (2,550m) - 7 hrs trek
  • Trek to Tarakot (2,281m) - 4 hrs trek
  • Trek to Dunai (2,052m) - 5 hrs trek
  • Trek to Juphal (2,404m) - 3 hrs trek
  • Fly to Kathmandu via Nepalgunj- Total 1 hr and 35 minutes flight
  • Leisure day and farewell dinner in Kathmandu
  • Depart Kathmandu

Important Trip Notes & Activities

Pleased acknowledge that you are joining us for the adventure trip in remote Himalayan region, where weather conditions, health and fitness of the member or unexpected natural disaster can compel us to change the itinerary and if so you have to understand it but we would try our best to keep the suggested itinerary as per the original schedule.

Your safety and satisfaction of the trip is our prime concern while travelling with us and we ensure you our best team, logistics, professional services to make sure that you would have an amazing trip of lifetime with us. Also note that our trip leader deserved the final decision if the trip has to amend, change the route or cancel due to the extreme conditions for the safety precaution. However, he will try his best to ensure that the trip runs as according to the stated plan but be prepared for flexibility if necessary.


Price: US $4200 per person

Inclusions

  • Airport picks up/ transfer
  • 4 nights Standard accommodation at Kathmandu with  breakfast
  • 1 night standard accommodation in Nepalgunj with breakfast
  • Welcome and Farewell dinner at one of the typical Nepalese restaurant- Traditional Dance & Music
  • Upper Dolpo Special permit/TIMS Card- Trekkers Security Card
  • Kathmandu- Juphal- Nepalgunj & Juphal-Nepalgunj-Kathmandu flight, airport tax and transfer
  • 18 nights/19 Days Upper Dolpo trek on full bard of meals (breakfast, Lunch & Dinner)
  • One Advance Adventures Trek Leader ( Gov. Licensed, first aid and eco trained), required assistance leader as per the group size, their entire expenses, equipment and insurance
  • Entire poterage cost- one porter for each two member in a group
  • All the Gov and local taxes
  • AA duffle bag and T- shirt
  • Down jacket and sleeping bags
  • Group medicine kit box
  • High altitude chamber bag for trek safety(available on above 5 pax travelling)
  • Departure transfer

 

Exclusions

• Nepal Visa, in/out flight to Kathmandu

• Your meals at Kathmandu, except provided dinner and breakfast

• Entire beverages, mineral water, beer etc. while on trek

• Travel insurance(Must includes Helicopter evacuation and trip cancellation)

• Personal nature expenses

• Tips 

• Any extending trips

All prices are in US dollars and do not include international airfare, unless otherwise noted.

We do have several departure dates for our trekking /climbing trips. Please find your convenient departure date from the below listed year and write us. Being as a Nepal based adventure travel Company, we do have permanent trekking set up in mountains so we are very much flexible for the departure dates for our every Himalayan trip. Please view our available group dates as stated and if the listed dates are not matching your expected time for this trip, write us with your personal date, we are happy to organize this trip to you as per your own selected date and we can open the same date for our group departure date.

Please Check Available Dates for The Year of
Start Date End Date Availability Price Booking
Thu 29 Jun Sun 23 Jul
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 2 Jul Wed 26 Jul
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 7 Jul Mon 31 Jul
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 12 Jul Sat 5 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 16 Jul Wed 9 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 20 Jul Sun 13 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 25 Jul Fri 18 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 31 Jul Thu 24 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 1 Aug Fri 25 Aug
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 6 Aug Wed 30 Aug
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 11 Aug Mon 4 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 16 Aug Sat 9 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 21 Aug Thu 14 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 26 Aug Tue 19 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 31 Aug Sun 24 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 1 Sep Mon 25 Sep
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 4 Sep Thu 28 Sep
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 7 Sep Sun 1 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 10 Sep Wed 4 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 13 Sep Sat 7 Oct
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 16 Sep Tue 10 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 19 Sep Fri 13 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 22 Sep Mon 16 Oct
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 25 Sep Thu 19 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 28 Sep Sun 22 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 30 Sep Tue 24 Oct
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 1 Oct Wed 25 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 4 Oct Sat 28 Oct
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 7 Oct Tue 31 Oct
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 10 Oct Fri 3 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 13 Oct Mon 6 Nov
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 16 Oct Thu 9 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 19 Oct Sun 12 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 22 Oct Wed 15 Nov
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 25 Oct Sat 18 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 28 Oct Tue 21 Nov
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 31 Oct Fri 24 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 1 Nov Sat 25 Nov
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 4 Nov Tue 28 Nov
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 7 Nov Fri 1 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 10 Nov Mon 4 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 13 Nov Thu 7 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 16 Nov Sun 10 Dec
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 19 Nov Wed 13 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 22 Nov Sat 16 Dec
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 25 Nov Tue 19 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 28 Nov Fri 22 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 30 Nov Sun 24 Dec
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Fri 1 Dec Mon 25 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 4 Dec Thu 28 Dec
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Mon 4 Dec Thu 28 Dec
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Thu 7 Dec Sun 31 Dec
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 10 Dec Wed 3 Jan
Guaranteed
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 13 Dec Sat 6 Jan
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sat 16 Dec Tue 9 Jan
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Wed 20 Dec Sat 13 Jan
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Tue 26 Dec Fri 19 Jan
Available
US $4200 Book Now
Sun 31 Dec Wed 24 Jan
Available
US $4200 Book Now

Notation: Airport Stops Route

Equipments

It is very important to have right seasonal Clothing & Equipments for the safe and enjoyable trek in Nepal. Here below, we have listed the required equipments for traveling to Nepal and its Himalayas. Please remember that you should always try to keep the weight of your equipment to a minimum. 

Head:
Sun hat or scarf 
Light balaclava or warm fleece hat 
Sunglasses with UV protection

 

Hands:
Lightweight gloves 
Heavyweight gloves or mittens with a waterproof shell outer

 

Upper Body:
T-shirts (2) 
Light and expedition weight thermal tops 
Fleece jacket or pullover 
Fleece Wind-Stopper jacket (optional) 
Waterproof (preferably breathable fabric)
shell jacket 

T- Shirt and Down Jacket
Advanced Adventure provide you this

 

Lower Body:
Underwear (4) 
Hiking shorts (2) 
Lightweight cotton long pants 
Light and expedition weight thermal bottoms 
Fleece or wool pants 
Waterproof (preferably breathable fabric) shell pants
 

Feet:
Thin, lightweight inner socks (4) 
Thick, warm wool hiking socks (4) 
Hiking boots with spare laces 
Camp shoes (sneakers and/or sandals)
Gaiters for hiking in winter to the base camp
 

Accessories:
Sleeping bag rated to zero degrees F - Advanced Adventure provide this 
Headlamp (e.g. Petzl Zoom) with spare bulbs and batteries 
Small pad or combination lock-to-lock for trek bag- Advanced Adventure provide Trekking Duffle Bag.
Basic First Aid Kit (see Health and Medicinal) 
Large plastic bags - for keeping items dry inside trek bag 
Daypack (approximately 2500 to 3000 cubic inches) 
Thermarest sleeping pad 
Water bottles (2)
Toiletries
Small wash towel

Extras/Luxuries:
Binoculars 
Reading book 
Trail Map/Guide book 
Journal & Pen 
Walkman 
Pencils and small notebooks 
Travel game i.e. chess, backgammon, scrabble

Life changing experience

It was an incredible journey ! My partner and I had the best time .I would recommend Advanced Adventures all the way, Mr Chet Bhatta was awesome in everything , he was onto our Emails within minutes each time we had a question before hand , incredibly helpful and made everything easy . Our guide […]

Treking to EBC EVEREST BASE CAMP

Chet prasad bhatta is an excellent boss .he is marvelous in the advanced adventure trip .I needed in april 2015 just before the earthquake a rescue of helicopter as I felt bad with altitude and he imediately rescue me at 4000 m.you must choose this grateful company in himalaia .the guides and sherpas are very […]

The Perfect Everest Base Camp Trek

Chet was our lead contact during our everest base camp trek, and he couldn’t have made it easier, nor could he have made us more comfortable. He helped us organize the entire trek, and set us up with an amazing guide, Lok, and 2 great porters. The entire experience from booking, to transportation, to trekking, […]

ABC & Poon Hill Trek with AAdventures – Excellent!

We went with Advance Adventures as recommended by a friend and are absolutely happy with the level of service provided by Chet and his team. The trip was very organised, throughout the trek Prem our guide, was caring for our needs, attentive and constantly ensuring we were getting the best experience possible. Could not have […]

Best Trip Ever

This was my first time to Nepal, and I found the people their to be so friendly. Wherever I was they were always helpful. My Everest Base Camp and Island Peak Climb was not only a success but a great adventure. Advanced Adventures had knowledgeable guides that answered all my questions. Learning the culture and […]